Holiday Post

First and foremost, please allow me to explain how pleasantly surprised I was when I walked outside this morning to find that it was almost 45 degrees! Almost as happy as I was when later on in the day it got to about 55. Wow, what a day, and one that I needed badly. Sure, gone are the days when I used to sleep outside on my balcony because the weather was conducive to such a lovely and fulfilling act..

This used to be....awesome...I miss it!

This used to be….awesome…I miss it!

…but I was still able to throw the windows open today and get some much needed fresh air into my apartment.

I needed the rejuvenation, the recharge, and the warmth of the sun to help me refocus. I had been doing pretty well as of late on remaining faithful to my list, but could feel the “honeymoon” phase of it starting to wane. Luckily, today’s uplifting weather did just that. Now it’s back to the grind.

I’m still dealing with some pretty heavy duty situations, not the least of which is my current job search, but I feel somewhat comforted by the situation when I start to think of the upcoming new year and also the reaction that Mak Daddy had when he saw both the Christmas tree lit up…

Not quite a Charlie Brown tree, but Mak Daddy loves it and that's good enough for me.

Not quite a Charlie Brown tree, but Mak Daddy loves it and that’s good enough for me.

…and his special present from “Santa” this morning.

Thanks to Godfather Randy...er...I mean Santa, for the gift. He loved it!

Thanks to Godfather Randy…er…I mean Santa, for the gift. He loved it!

I tell you what, this whole parenting gig is a pretty sweet one. It not only teaches you to have the patience of Job (the guy in the Bible, for those not aware), but it also puts in perspective trivial things that may have otherwise been more serious if I was not a parent. The thing I’ve come to realize is this; the only thing that really matters at this point in my life is him. That’s not to say I don’t care deeply about my friends and family and seek to do good things for myself as well both professionally and personally, but none of that really stacks up when compared to my responsibilities as Mak Daddy’s, well, Daddy. Yes, I call myself the Daddy of the Mak at times, and I’d bet that about 65% of my audience doesn’t even understand that reference, which is kinda sad really.

Personally and professionally, I am optimistic. I feel like things are going to work out just exactly as they need to work, and not any other way. Most times, that’s scary to me because having faith is admittedly something I struggle with in all kinds of ways. However, I know what I am and what I offer. I’ve also kicked around some extracurricular endeavors that may take my life in an exciting direction as well. I guess it’s all about timing. We’ll see soon enough.

Until next time; keep ambition in your heart, logic in your mind, and allow yourself to continue the pursuit.